When you get a new car, one of the most important things you do is get insurance. Not only does it protect you financially in case of an accident, but it also gives you peace of mind in knowing that you’re covered should something happen. If you’re like many Floridians, you may be tempted to go without car insurance for a short period of time. But before you do, consider the following: -You run the risk of being pulled over and ticketed for not having a driver’s license or proof of insurance. -If you get into an accident while driving without insurance, your insurance company may not cover the costs associated with the accident. In conclusion, it’s always a good idea to have car insurance even if you don’t plan on driving your car for a while. By doing so, you can avoid potential headaches down the road and maintain peace of mind.
What is Car Insurance?
There are a few things you need to know about car insurance in order to stay safe and protected on the roads. First, make sure you have the proper coverage – liability, property, and collision. Each type of coverage comes with different limits and requirements, so be sure to read your policy carefully.
Another important note is that Florida requires drivers to carry minimal liability insurance before their vehicle will be registered. This amount is usually around $25,000 per person or $50,000 per event. If you’re involved in an accident that results in injury or death, having comprehensive coverage can help pay for damages you may have caused.
Finally, always remember to drive safely and obey the traffic laws. This will not only keep you safe but also protect your rights should something happen while driving.
Types of Coverage
In Florida, you can go uninsured for up to 6 months without consequences. This is thanks to the “uninsured motorist” statute, which states that drivers who are not covered by car insurance are presumed to be driving without due care and attention. If you’re caught driving without coverage after the six-month limit has passed, your driver’s license may be suspended or you may be subject to a fine.
If you already have car insurance, your policy will likely cover you during the first six months of being uninsured. After that, if you get pulled over and demonstrate that you did not have appropriate car insurance at the time of your offense, your driver’s license may be suspended or you may face fines.
What to do if You Fall Behind on Your Car Insurance
If you fall behind on your car insurance in Florida, you may eventually be subject to a suspension or cancellation of your policy. If this happens, you’ll need to get back on track and ensure that you’re up to date on your policy payments.
To keep your policy active, make sure that you:
-Keep accurate records of when your insurance was last renewed and when the renewal payment was received.
-Pay all required premiums on time. Late payments can lead to a suspension or cancellation of your policy.
-Report any accidents, thefts, or damaged property immediately to your insurer. This will help protect your record and maintain your policy status.
One of the most important things you can do when you move to a new state is to make sure that you are aware of the different types of car insurance that are available in Florida. This will give you the peace of mind knowing that if something were to happen while you’re driving, your personal assets would be protected. In order to find out how long you can go without car insurance in Florida, please read our article on the subject.