It can be tough to know what needs to be covered when you’re renting a car. Do I need liability insurance? Collision coverage? If I’m driving in New Hampshire, does that mean I need car insurance? The answer to this question may surprise you. According to the New Hampshire Insurance Department, it’s not necessary to have car insurance when driving in the state. In fact, NH is one of just six states in America that doesn’t require any form of car insurance when driving. If you plan on renting a car in New Hampshire, it’s best to double check with the rental company before you hit the road. Some may require you to have certain types of coverage, while others may not at all. And if you do end up needing car insurance while renting in New Hampshire, be sure to compare rates and find the best option for you.
What is New Hampshire Car Insurance?
New Hampshire is a state in the New England region of the United States. As of 2016, the population was 1,331,664. New Hampshire is the 9th smallest by population and has the fourth smallest area. The state’s capital is Concord and its most populous city is Manchester. New Hampshire requires drivers to have liability insurance in order to operate a motor vehicle on public roads or highways. The minimum required liability insurance for vehicles registered in New Hampshire is $25,000 per person/$100,000 per occurrence for Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) and Property Damage Liability (PDL). For motorcycles, the minimum requirement is $5,000 BIL/PDL. Minimum required property damage liability insurance for all other vehicles registered in New Hampshire is $50,000 per person/$250,000 per occurrence.
In addition to liability insurance requirements, New Hampshire also has an educational requirement for drivers: you must be at least 18 years old to drive a car or motorcycle in the state. Furthermore, there are restrictions on driving during nighttime hours and certain holidays; these restrictions are listed on the NH DMV website.
Types of Coverage You May Need
Auto insurance is a necessity in most states, but what if you’re a driver in New Hampshire? In this state, car insurance is not mandatory and there’s no minimum coverage required. That being said, it’s still important to have the appropriate policy in place in case of an accident. Here are three different types of coverage you may need depending on your situation:
At-fault coverage: If someone else is at fault for the accident, you’ll likely need at-fault coverage. This will help pay for damages you caused as well as those suffered by the other party.
Collision coverage: This will help pay for damages to your car that aren’t directly attributable to another person or vehicle. This includes things like broken windows and damage to the exterior of your car.
Personal injury protection (PIP): If you’re injured in an accident, PIP can help cover some of your medical expenses.
Is New Hampshire a No-Fault State?
In New Hampshire, you are not required to carry car insurance. However, if you are involved in an accident, the law requires that you maintain minimum liability insurance coverage. This means that, at a minimum, your policy must cover damages up to $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. If you are found negligent in an accident, your policy may also be void.
If you’re driving in New Hampshire, make sure to have car insurance. You are not required to have it, but it is a good idea to have it in case of an accident or if your vehicle is stolen. In New Hampshire, you are responsible for any damage to other people or their property that occurs during the course of a car accident.