Do I Need Insurance to Register a Car in Colorado: When you think of registering a car in Colorado, you may automatically think that you need insurance. After all, it’s not like registering your car in another state without insurance would be a great idea, is it? While it’s true that registering your car without insurance can have some negative consequences (like the potential for a ticket), it’s not the only option. In fact, there are several situations where registering your car without insurance is perfectly legal. To help you figure out which situation applies to you, read on to learn more about what needs to be done to register your car in Colorado without insurance.
What is Colorado’s auto insurance? Do I Need Insurance to Register a Car in Colorado
Colorado requires all drivers to have automobile insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is $15,000 per accident for bodily injury, $30,000 per accident for property damage, and $5,000 for each occurrence of uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. The minimum required coverages increase by $50,000 for each additional person in the car.
If you are driving a vehicle that is registered in Colorado and you do not have the required minimum insurance coverage, the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will notify you and you will be required to purchase the appropriate liability insurance before your registration can be processed. If you fail to comply with this requirement your registration may be suspended or revoked.
How much does Colorado charge for car registration?Do I Need Insurance to Register a Car in Colorado
In Colorado, car registration is a tax. You’ll need to pay an annual fee of $86.25 in addition to the taxes you already pay on your vehicle. Registration fees are based on the value of your car, not its age. For vehicles worth less than $1,000, you’ll only need to pay the registration fee once. For vehicles worth more than $1,000, you’ll have to pay the registration fee every year until the vehicle’s value falls below $86.25.
What are the penalties for not having Colorado car insurance?
In Colorado, you are legally obligated to have car insurance. Failure to have vehicle insurance can result in a fine of up to $1,000, plus court costs. Additionally, your Colorado registration may be suspended or revoked if you are found guilty of not having car insurance.
Depending on your specific needs, you may or may not need to purchase automobile insurance before registering your car in Colorado. Here are some things to keep in mind if you’re not sure whether or not you need insurance: -If you have a clean driving record and no accidents in the past three years, then you likely don’t need policy. -If you own a car that is 10 years old or newer, then it’s usually mandatory to have auto insurance. -Some states require drivers under the age of 21 to have auto insurance. Check with your state DMV for more information.